Commemoration Arthouros Zervos

12th December 2024

Timing: 15:30 – 20:00 CET

Doors open: 15:30 Speeches: 16:15 – 1

Speeches: 16:15 – 17:30 Drinks and snacks follow

Location: WindEurope office, Rue Belliard 40, 1040 Brussels

Online: Connect here

Welcome by Giles Dickson

Chief Executive Officer of Wind Europe

1. Ioannis Tsipouridis (video)

Chairman of the Hellenic Scientific Wind Energy Association 2003 – 2010; 2013 - 2017

Chief Executive Officer at Public Power Corporation Renewables (Greece) 2010 - 2013

Visiting Professor at Technical University of Mombasa, Kenya

Arthouros' strong foundation in Research & Academia

2. Geert Palmers

First Secretary General EUREC 1994 - 1998 Co-founder 3E

3. George Caralis - The Genesis of Arthouros Zervos in Wind Energy

Research and Teaching staff NTUA

4. Athanasia Arapogianni – Konitsi (video)

Former student NTUA & EUREC 2005-2008)
Associate Director, Energy and Climate, Berkeley Research Group

His impact on European policy making

5. Klaus Rave

Managing Director of Investitionsbank Schleswig-Holstein since 1995- 2011 President of European Wind Energy Association (EWEA) 1999 - 2002 Chairman of Global Wind Energy Council 2010 – 2016

6. Beatriz Yordi - The RES Directive

Director Markets and Clean Mobility European Commission, DG Climate Action

7. Claude Turmes (video t.b.c.)

Member of the European Parliament 1999 - 2018 Minister for Energy and Minister for Spatial Planning of Luxemburg 2018 – 2023

8. Christian Kjaer - Disrupting the European electricity sector

CEO of European Wind Energy Association 2006 - 2013 Chief Public Affairs Officer at SuperNode Ltd

9. Corin Millais (video)

CEO of European Wind Energy Association 2002 – 2006 Head of Sustainability and ESG at Teachers Mutual Bank Limited

10. Christine Lins – Renewables for electricity, heating &cooling as well as transport in Europe and globally

Secretary-General EREC 2001 – 2011 Executive Secretary 2011 – 2018 Executive Director GWNET

Arthouros, a global renewable energy visionary

11. Li Junfeng (video)

First Director General of National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC), 2011 – 2016

President of Chinese Renewable Energy Industries Association (CREIA)

12. Mike Eckhart (video t.b.c.)

Founder and President of American Council On Renewable Energy (ACORE)

13. Rana Adib

Executive Director REN21

14. Fatih Birol (video)

Executive Director IEA

15. Ben Backwell

Chief Executive Officer Global Wind Energy Council

16. Francesco La Camera (video t.b.c.)

Director-General IRENA

17. Bruce Douglas

Chief Executive Officer Global Renewable Alliance